Pension Fund Committee

Meeting to be held on 15 July 2011

Electoral Division affected: All

Pension Fund Committee and Administration Sub-Committee Constitution: Chair and Deputy Chair; Membership; Terms of Reference (Appendix 'A' refers)

Contact for further information: Chris Mather, 01772 533559, Office of the Chief Executive

Executive Summary and Recommendation

The Committee is asked: to note:

- the appointment of County Councillor D Westley and County Councillor M Welsh as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Pension Fund Committee for the remainder of the 2011/12 municipal year;
- ii. the appointment of County Councillor M Welsh and County Councillor G Roper as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee for the remainder of the 2011/12 municipal year;
- iii. the membership of the Pension Fund Committee and the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee following the County Council's annual meeting; and
- iv. the Terms of Reference of the Pension Fund Committee and the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee.

Background and Advice

The County Council at its annual meeting on 26 May 2011 agreed that the Pension Fund Committee shall comprise 14 County Councillors (on the basis of 8 Conservative members, 3 Labour members, 2 Liberal Democrat members and 1 Green member) and 7 voting co-opted members. It was also agreed that nominations of County Councillors to serve on the Pension Fund Committee should be submitted to the County Secretary and Solicitor by the respective political groups.

The following Councillors have subsequently been nominated to serve on the Pension Fund Committee for the following year:



County Councillors (14):

T Aldridge M Parkinson
M Brindle T Pimblett
F De Molfetta S Riches
M Devaney G Roper
P Evans M Welsh
M France D Westley
J Lawrenson K Young

The following voting co-optees have been nominated to serve on the Pension Fund Committee:

Voting Co-opted members (7):

Lancashire Unitary Authorities

Councillor M Smith (Blackpool Council)
Councillor R O'Keeffe (Blackburn with Darwen Borough
Council)

Lancashire District Councils

Councillor P Doyle (Burnley Borough Council)
Councillor P Goldsworthy (Chorley Borough Council)

Trade Union representatives

Mr B Harvey Mr R Whittle

Higher Education/Further Education establishments Mr P Hyett

The Full Council appointed County Councillor D Westley and County Councillor M Welsh as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Pension Fund Committee for the remainder of the 2011/12 municipal year.

The following Councillors and voting co-optees have been nominated to serve on the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee for the remainder of the 2011/12 municipal year:

County Councillors (5)

M Brindle F De Molfetta G Roper M Welsh K Young

Voting Co-opteds (2)

Councillor M Smith (Blackpool Council)
Mr B Harvey (Trade Union representative)

The Full Council appointed County Councillors M Welsh and G Roper as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee for the remainder of the 2011/12 municipal year.

The Terms of Reference of the Pension Fund Committee and the Pension Fund Administration Sub-Committee are attached at Appendix 'A'.

Administration out committee are attached at Apponaix At.		
Consultations		
N/A		
Implications:		
This item has the following implications, as indicated:		
Risk management		
There are no risk management implications arising from this item.		
Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers		
Paper	Date	Contact/Directorate/Tel
N/A		
Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate		
N/A		